The Four Sons Of Horus

The Four Sons of Horus were traditionally the guardians of the internal organs of the deceased. Each was associated with a particular organ, and also with a different cardinal point on the compass.

The Four Sons Of Horus
God Protects Head Point
Imsety Liver Human South
Hapy Lungs Baboon North
Duamutef Stomach Jackal East
Qebehsenuef Intestines Falcon West

The Four Sons, from the British Museum

Return To Mummifying the Chest