The Four Sons of Horus were traditionally the guardians of the internal organs of the deceased. Each was associated with a particular organ, and also with a different cardinal point on the compass.

The Four Sons Of Horus
God Protects Head Point Goddess
Imsety Liver Human South Isis
Hapy Lungs Baboon North Nephthys
Duamutef Stomach Jackal East Neit
Qebehsenuef Intestines Falcon West Selkis

The Four Sons, from the British Museum

Coffin art detail showing the 4 canopic jars under the Lion Bier while the deceased is attended by Anubis and Horus. 


From the Royal Museum Of Scotland